‘Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them’: The Magic Just Isn’t There

fantastic beastsImage via Warner Bros

Harry Potter was more than a book series or a series of films.  Harry Potter was life.  Every summer, it seemed like either a new book or movie was released, and there was always something to look forward to and be excited about.  Then, I graduated high school, and my view on the world has become more and more nihilistic, but the lack of new Harry Potter – related media is only a part of it.

I get excited for movies that I want to see.  Batman? Yes.  Captain America? Yes.  The return of the Joker to the big screen? Yes.  But why am I not exited at all for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them?  

First of all, this movie is really flying under the radar.  It makes sense. Between closing out last year with The Force Awakens and leading into another Star Wars movie this year, Batman and Superman going at it, Captain America and Iron Man going at it, Dory coming back, and a new Joker, it is absolutely no surprise that this film is really quiet.

Every studio seems to want to cash in on every property they own right now- just look at all of the movies Disney is putting out.  But why revisit Harry Potter’s world?  There is a big problem with doing so.  Not only am I not excited about Fantastic Beasts, I do not think it will be a very good movie at all, despite all of JK Rowling’s involvement.

Like I said before, Harry Potter was basically my life growing up.  So why am I not excited for another movie about his world?  I am a big fan of revisiting characters and worlds when it feels appropriate- I almost crapped myself when I saw Han Solo on the big screen, and yes I knew he was going to be in it.

But Fantastic Beasts isn’t your typical money-grub.  While it is still set in the same world as Harry Potter, there just isn’t anything that really ties the two together.  What made Harry Potter great for an entire generation of fans was the fact that we could relate to it.  Even though he’s from England and goes to wizard school, he still faces a lot of the same problems that we faced growing up.  It was really a coming-of-age story that happened to be about wizards and magic rather than a story about wizards and magic that happened to have a coming-of-age story included in it.

It won’t have the same feel to Harry Potter because it won’t take place in the familiar setting of Hogwarts castle.  Plus, Ron Perlman and Jon Voight are going to be in it, which just feels wrong for anything related to Harry Potter.  

In short, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them just won’t feel as personal as Harry Potter, and that is why I am not excited to see it.  I grew up with the same timeline as the Harry Potter movies; the last one came out during my senior year of high school.  I just don’t know how I would receive a movie that on the surface is supposed to be like Harry Potter, but I know it won’t be because there won’t be that connection.  Anyways, these have been my thoughts on Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.

What are your thoughts on Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “‘Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them’: The Magic Just Isn’t There

  1. You have absolutely no idea what you’re talking about. Fantastic Beasts is rich in connections to the Harry Potter wizarding world. The stars aren’t Jon Voight and Ron Perlman — they’re 34-year-old Oscar winner Eddie Redmayne and other vibrant young stars Ezra Miller, Dan Fogler, Katherine Waterston and Ali Sudol, plus a bit older favorite Colin Farrell. And under the radar? YouTube promotions and trailers for the film have more than 25 million views, and every new revelation trends on social media. Do your research and stop embarrassing yourself!

    Like

    • So I think you missed the point of my article- while there may be connections to the Harry Potter world, it just isn’t the same. My point was that it will be missing the characters and scenarios that I personally am familiar with. And while Jon Voight and Ron Perlman aren’t the stars, the are in it. You don’t have to agree with me, but nothing I said was false, and all of the facts I listed check out, and is simply my opinion. As for the under the radar bit, it definitely has been compared to other movies this year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

